Fort Dodge Community School Disctrict


FDSH Students and Staff Receive School Board Recognition

Dec 15, 2010

Monday night's school board meeting was filled with recognition as 27 Fort Dodge Senior High students, coaches, and directors were awarded for various achievements.

Fort Dodge Senior High Principal Dave Keane and Activities/Athletics Director Tom Kinseth called recipients, one by one, to the front of the board room where they were congratulated by Board of Education President Jerry Schnurr.


Jerry Schnurr, Board of Education President congratulates All-State Cheerleaders Katie Rickels, Ashley Ebelsheiser, and Erin O'Leary.  On right, Schnurr applauds marching band directors Curtiss Klein, Deb Orozco, Mike Richardson, and Jeremy Smith for their "1" rating at the state contest.

Congratulations to the following students and staff for recognition at the December 13 school board meeting:

Freshman, Ayenna Cagaanan – recognized for scoring in the top 1 percent in the country on the ACT. She recently was honored at the University of Iowa Belin-Blank Recognition Ceremony and was also a recipient of the Belin-Blank scholarship program. 

Marching Band Directors - Curtiss Klein, Mike Richardson, Deb Orozco, and Jeremy Smith were recognized for their “1” rating at the state marching band contest.

Terry Coleman – received NFHS Speech, Debate, and Theatre Association nominee for the state of Iowa.

Athletes: Erin O’Leary, Ashley Ebelsheiser, Katie Rickels – received All-State Cheerleading honors.

FDSH Cheerleading Coach, KC Williams – recognized as the UCA Cheerleading Coach of the Month.

Athlete, Colin Pearson – CIML Iowa Conference Golf Champion

Athlete, Reid Russell – state cross country qualifier

Football coaches, Matt Miller and John McBride – CIML Iowa Conference Champions. Miller received Iowa Conference Football Coach of the Year award.

All-State Football Athletes – Levi Peters, Darreus Caston, Landon Ashbrook, and Ethan Bartlett

Athletes: Sara Boitnott, Elliot Lee, Matthew Nellis, and Allen Smith – state qualifiers for Special Olympic Bowling. Smith placed fourth and Lee and Nellis placed first, bringing home the gold.

All-State Music honors – Diana Chou, All-State Band four years in a row; Danielle Border, All-State Band; Jacob Amhof, All-State Choir; Rose Peterson, selected as first alternate for All-State Band.


Dodger football players were recognized for being team captains or having All-State honors.  In their 2010 season, the Dodgers were the CIML Iowa Conference Champions and Coach Matt Miller was named the Iowa Conference Coach of the Year.


Ashton Newman

Director of Communications


Congratulations to all who received honors!

Dave Newman | | Dec 15, 2010 4:13 PM
© 2014 Fort Dodge Community School District. All rights reserved.
Powered by SiteViz